No, my blog isn’t dead yet. And it won’t be even if I wanted to. I rather enjoy backreading my posts and laughing at my thoughts and grammatical errors. Besides, I tend to forget even my best memories so best to make them available online where it’ll stay until the death of the internet for my reference.

Anyway, I haven’t been writing for quite some time mostly because I was lazy and also because I was busy doing a number of other things (I’ll stop explaining myself here since nothing else would justify the results of my laziness).

So to resurrect mythoughtprocesses, I am posting one of the highlights of my summer–that is, my first experience at the Newport Performing Arts Theater, Resorts World Manila to watch The King & I. We saw it last April 6. Its last show is on Sunday and I highly recommend this as a bonding activity for families.

Hannah, me and Aivi. All set for the show!

Hannah, me and Aivi. All set for the show!

Newport was a very comfortable theater (I had to say that) and the attendants were all very nice and friendly. I went with my friends, Hannah and Aivi who were so willing to get dragged because a) they wanted to see it too b) there were free KitKat chocolates and c) we bought our tickets for P595 only (thanks to iGrab.ph).

We got there early because iGrab said so, had our lunch with my family in Kopi Roti then the three of us went on to see the 2PM show.

Myself and Resorts World

I may be familiar with some musicals already but not much on The King & I. The only reference I have about it is the movie, Anna & The King. The two were so different in presentation but I enjoyed both immensely. The latter is a bit serious with slight melodrama while the former is colorful, lively and comedic. I adore the set design for this musical (one really can’t help but enjoy the elephant and all those shiny things) and the cast members were fantastic. We saw Bo Cerrudo as the King and Shiela Valderrama as Anna. I think they did a wonderful job with their roles and I love their chemistry (just as with the movie, I still had hopes their characters ended up together but oh well).

Beautiful!

Beautiful!

All in all, I loved the musical and would love to watch it again for a discount. =P

Etcetera, etcetera, etcetera!

And because resurrections should be dramatic, I refuse to end it there.

Ballet Philippines's A Midsummer Night's Dream

Ballet Philippines’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream

I just wanted to share more pictures and this time, it’s from A Midsummer Night’s Dream by Ballet Philippines. It’s purely ballet (no songs, no spoken words, just dance) but it was still very enjoyable. And this is the first time I actually noticed that Shakespeare actually liked recycling scenes in his plays. ;D Also, watching this ballet got me looking into my Shakespeare copies and upon finding Bernard J. Taylor’s Much Ado musical, I thought, “Hey, now that I have music to listen to, maybe I should try reading a Shakespeare”. And so I did. I grabbed my copy of Much Ado About Nothing, set my iPod with the Much Ado playlist and managed to read the play within two weeks without looking at explanatory notes. Good job, self! 😀 I am in love with Benedick and Beatrice! Woohoo! I’ll probably get to Midsummer sometime in the future. We’ll see.

My signed program

To end this post, let’s just say that I am pretty much excited to see two more musicals this year. One is the Manila production of Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella starring Karylle and Christian Bautista (Resorts World) and the other is a musical which I seriously love. I’m not going to tell yet but I’m really, really excited to see it! 😀