Tags

, , , , ,

Synopsis:

The second thrilling installment in Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy spinoff series

Tough, brainy alchemist Sydney Sage and doe-eyed Moroi princess Jill Dragomir are in hiding at a human boarding school in the sunny, glamorous world of Palm Springs, California. The students–children of the wealthy and powerful–carry on with their lives in blissful ignorance, while Sydney, Jill, Eddie, and Adrian must do everything in their power to keep their secret safe. But with forbidden romances, unexpected spirit bonds, and the threat of Strigoi moving ever closer, hiding the truth is harder than anyone thought.

Populated with new faces as well as familiar ones, Richelle Mead’s breathtaking Bloodlines series explores all the friendship, romance, battles, and betrayals that made the #1 New York Times bestselling Vampire Academy series so addictive. In this second book, the drama is hotter, the romances are steamier, and the stakes are even higher.- goodreads

Publisher: Razorbill

Main Characters:

  • Sydney Sage
  • Adrian Ivashkov
  • Jill Dragomir
  • Eddie Castile
  • Angeline Dawes
  • Ms. Jaclyn Terwilliger
  • Trey Juarez

Genre: Young Adult, Vampire, Paranormal

Pages: 418

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thoughts:

I am one of those people who do not like reading ebooks of any format unless I absolutely have no choice or I really cannot wait to get my hands on a printed copy. In this book’s case, it’s the latter. After I finished Bloodlines, my fingers were itching to flip the pages of the next book and knowing that The Golden Lily has been released in several countries already, I find myself in constant restlessness because I knew that there was no way that the paperback version would be released in my country anytime soon. Because of that, I found myself digging through Google’s search results for a pdf copy of the book. One might think it’s illegal to do so but hey, I’m still going to buy the book, you know. Hehe.

It took me sometime to finish this book because of the format I forced myself to read but heck was I glad that I read this book. And then I got totally depressed because I realized that I was going to have to wait for about a year to read the next one. Argh!

“What do you think Dimitri? Is this a good idea, Dimitri? Please give us your blessing so that we can fall down and worship you, Dimitri.”-Adrian

I will have to struggle to get back more details about this book into my head because I read it about a month ago already but hey, I don’t have to go into much detail so I’m sure you’re still going to find the review helpful. 🙂

Plot/Story

The Golden Lily continues the story of Sydney, Adrian, Eddie and Jill from Bloodlines. In this book, the pacing gets faster and more things started happening (more mysteries too) assuring readers that the lacking aspects in Bloodlines are about to be addressed.

I think this one’s a lot (and I mean, a lot) more exciting than the first book and I find that there were only a few places that I would rather skip (typical of me though, I read every single word of the book). Well actually, it had only been just a few paragraphs. Other than that, the book was downright wonderful.

“Adrian was easily distractible by wacky topics and shiny objects.”-Sydney

In this book, there were a lot of instances that brought Sydney closer and closer to magic (mostly because of Ms. Terwilliger’s not so subtle manipulation). It made me think that sooner than later, our favorite Alchemist is going to have to use her own magical abilities to do something world-changing (the book’s world, that is). The vampire hunters subplot as well as the Sydrian (Sydney and Adrian) moments were enough to get me very, very excited and it made me love the book more and more and more. I swear, I’m loving the development of Sydney and Adrian’s relationship more than I thought I would. The development of the Jill-Eddie-Angeline love triangle is also becoming more interesting. The presence of Sonya Karp and Dimitri Belikov was comforting and familiar but one thing I can say, the book is totally not dependent on recurrent major characters.

“You need me? You yell. You want to leave? We go. I’ll get you out of here, no matter what.”-Adrian

I said in my review of Bloodlines that I felt as if Trey and Ms. Terwilliger seemed to have a bigger role than the first book had let on. Turns out, I was right. That being the case, you have to read The Golden Lily to find out all about it.

Characters

Sydney

I swear, this girl had endeared herself more and more to me because of this book! It wasn’t only about her new found magic nor her blossoming relationship with Adrian but more so because of how socially awkward she was. I mean, she really was very reliable and intelligent but when it come to romance and social events, she was totally clueless. I love the parts where she went on her ‘dates’ and she was always worrying about how to act. In all truth, she really reminded me so much of myself. Her potential is slowly showing itself and I can’t wait for the book that would reveal most of what she can do.

“Adrian, I’m on a date. Why are you here? On my car?”-Sydney

Adrian

I said this before, I think I might have found my favorite YA hero. I was right. This book was enough proof of that. His flaws and his character is pretty much deep, adorable and I don’t know if anybody else is going to agree with me, but yeah, I find his character strong. There was something very complicated about him but that complication made him real. One thing’s for sure, he isn’t perfect but he’s almost there. I also love how his feelings for Sydney developed. There was friendship, admiration, respect and yes, I have a huge feeling, there was love. I’m not throwing away his love for Rose, no, but let’s admit it, Rose and Adrian had been torturous and hopeless but Sydney and Adrian is torturous yet hopeful. And since we all think that Adrian deserves to be happy, we have to place our hopes on Sydrian.

“Sage,” he said. “What are you wearing?”
I sighed and stared down at the dress. “I know. It’s red. Don’t start. I’m tired of hearing about it.”
“Funny,” he said. “I don’t think I could ever get tired of looking at it.”

Eddie

There was more of Eddie in this book and yet again, he reminds me of a mixture of Sydney and Dimitri. I like his protective instincts, his honor and his principles. However, I will have to comment on his thoughts and feelings about Jill. Honestly, I wrote about a character that thinks like him and his “I’m not worthy” attitude made me like him a bit less. Especially since he told himself that without even trying to give himself a chance. I liked my character better when he finally revealed his feelings. I hope it happens to Eddie too. Or else I’ll growl at him. For real.

Eddie was intensely dedicated too. Adrian sometimes called him mini-Dimitri.

Jill

Another development is for this particular character. I’d say it was probably good that Angeline showed up because the Dragomir princess seemed a lot more responsible this time. I understand her wish for a normal life but I admired her when she made personal decisions that she knew would be for everyone’s good. She’s starting to make me think her character’s going to  get better and better.

Angeline

I don’t love her but I don’t hate her either. I’ll have to say though that she sometimes irritated the hell out of me because of her irresponsibility. I know she grew up in a different environment but the way she coped up with her new school was almost annoying. The punching I can forgive. The unwise decisions, no. To hell if she’s fifteen. I can be thankful for her change of attitude come the end of the book because of she didn’t, I’ll probably slap her. I hope for better things for her come book 3.

Trey

This will be short. I like Trey as a character (despite everything that happened) and I really, really hope his role didn’t end in this book. I’m pretty sure he’ll be back but since I haven’t read book 3, I can only hope and pray.

“Why couldn’t I be locked away in my room or the library doing something enjoyable, like homework?”-Sydney

Ms. Terwilliger

Weeee!!! I love this teacher! Richelle has already mentioned in Twitter that she’ll have a major role in the series and I must say that she deserves it! She may be a bit pushy and weird but really, I think she’s an amazing teacher. Sydney definitely needed her in this series.

Writing Style

I don’t think I need to make this part long since I already told everyone how much I admire Richelle Mead’s writing and that did not change in this installment. I definitely liked the pacing of this book much better and I look forward to what this author still has in store for us readers. I mean, hello. Just look at the bloody ending. If Richelle continues to do those kinds of endings, I swear I’m going to die of impatience. If only I can force them to publish the next one within a month.

“Slushes. Do you know how much I love those? Cherry, especially.”-Adrian

Honestly, this book’s better than the first and those who stopped reading have missed a lot. All this being said, I cannot wait for the third Bloodlines book, The Indigo Spell. What on earth happened to Marcus Finch?

“If I were him, I would have said, ‘You are the most beautiful creature I have ever seen walking this earth’.”-Adrian to Sydney

