Synopsis:

It has been eight years since Batman vanished into the night, turning, in that instant, from hero to fugitive. Assuming the blame for the death of D.A. Harvey Dent, the Dark Knight sacrificed everything for what he and Commissioner Gordon both hoped was the greater good. For a time the lie worked, as criminal activity in Gotham City was crushed under the weight of the anti-crime Dent Act. But everything will change with the arrival of a cunning cat burglar with a mysterious agenda. Far more dangerous, however, is the emergence of Bane, a masked terrorist whose ruthless plans for Gotham drive Bruce out of his self-imposed exile. But even if he dons the cape and cowl again, Batman may be no match for Bane.. — (C) Warner Bros. Rotten Tomatoes

Director: Christopher Nolan

Production Companies: Warner Bros. Pictures, DC Entertainment

Main Characters:

Christian Bale as Bruce Wayne/Batman
Michael Caine as Alfred
Gary Oldman as Commissioner Gordon
Anne Hathaway as Selina Kyle
Tom Hardy as Bane
Marion Cotillard as Miranda
Joseph Gordon-Levitt as Officer Blake
Morgan Freeman as Lucius Fox

Release Dates: 19 July2012 (Philippines)

Genre: Sci-Fi, Action, Comics, Superhero

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Thoughts:

Late review is late. Ha. Ha. But then, better late than never. That being said, I’ll keep my thoughts short and sweet.

First and foremost, if you’ve been following my reviews (though it would be surprising if you do), you’d know that I’m terribly forgetful about films. That or I really haven’t seen the previous installments. And I don’t do preparations like watching the previous stuff first before watching the latest. Filmmakers and writers should consider people like me, you know. They should stop creating films and book series that can’t be seen or read out of order. Oh well, I’m getting off topic.

It was all in all a great movie if not for the fact that I failed to understand all that background information for the entire first half of the movie. It’s good thing I’m sharp sometimes ’cause I managed to catch the ideas come second half. There was a balance of aww shucks and awestruck moments in the film and I wasn’t left totally dissatisfied. The story for the film (if I disregard the events of the previous films) is cohesive and no strings were left unattached come the ending. One just have to be astute enough.

Not a comic book/superhero fan so don’t stone me to death if I say that sometimes, I did get bored. I’m not comparing it to the other superhero movies that have been coming out lately like lava from a volcanic eruption but all that talk is really not my thing–especially when I’m (again) in the front row seats, struggling not to get cross-eyed.

Alright. Best things about the movie? Alfred the Butler, Christian Bale’s sexy lips, Anne Hathaway’s hotness in her shiny black catsuit, and the ending. Yup. I love that ending. It’s too much like a beginning. 

