Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today is National Cheesecake Day! At least according to Twitter. But that’s not exactly the reason why I felt the need to write a post today.

You see, a year ago, I was seated in our dining table, using the laptop while waiting for dinner. Who would’ve thought that that very ordinary setup would have such a huge impact to me and my life? It was on that uneventful night when I went in front of a computer and started writing the prologue of what I first called “Hellos and Goodbyes” which became “A Playgirl’s Secret Diaries” and then currently “Secret Diaries”. Apparently, I have the tendency to change my mind when it comes to titles. But don’t worry. I think I am going to stick with “Secret Diaries” for a long while. 🙂

I can still remember exactly what the first line of that book was: “I really don’t know how to begin.”

I may have said that in one of my previous posts but let me just say it again. That sentence was exactly what I felt when I first stared at the blank Microsoft Word page. Who would have thought that it would result to more than 200 pages of Teen Fiction? Well, I certainly did not. Even more surprising to me is that I finished this book on April 18, 2012–more or less nine months after I started writing it.

Now, I am glad to say that I have started a sequel for it, called Love Letter. It has recurring characters and to be honest, my writing style now have improved in multitudes. If not for Secret Diaries, I probably wouldn’t have known that I tend to change tenses within a story and that it bothers and confuses some of my readers.

In all truth, Secret Diaries has taught me not only about writing but more so about myself. And well, I’m happy to look back one year from now and realize just how far I’ve come. 

And so,

Happy Anniversary to me, Rachelle and Heartlake City!

That being said, perhaps you might want to check and read it? Here’s a link:

https://mythoughtprocesses.wordpress.com/raine-the-writer/a-playgirls-secret-diaries/

Now here’s some slices of cheesecake for you:

