Tags

, , , ,

Synopsis:

Teenage social outcast Peter Parker spends his days trying to unravel the mystery of his own past, and trying to win the heart of his high school crush, Gwen Stacy. Peter discovers a mysterious briefcase belonging to his father, who abandoned him when he was a child, which leads him to his father’s former research partner, Dr. Curtis Connors. The discovery of his father’s secret coupled with an encounter with a genetically altered spider, will ultimately shape his destiny to become “Spider-Man” and bring him face to face with Connors, who becomes the Lizard.- Wikipedia

 

Director: Marc Webb

Production Company/ies: Columbia Pictures, Marvel

Main Characters:

Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker/Spider-Man
Emma Stone as Gwen Stacy
Rhys Ifans as Dr. Curt Connors
Denis Leary as Captain George Stacy
Martin Sheen as Ben Parker
Sally Field as May Parker

Genre: Sci-Fi, Action, Comics Superheroes

Release Dates: 29 June 2012 (Philippines); 03 July 2012 (US)

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thoughts:

My friends and I watched this during the opening weekend (July 01) and just as expected, it was good. I mean, good, great, wonderful, amazing. 😀

As usual, it really wasn’t in my schedule to watch this movie. We intended to avoid the crowd and watch Prometheus instead but apparently, the cinema owners in this country thought that Spidey would lure too many people to the cinemas and decided not to feature anything else. Haha!

Hmmm, so what movie shall I watch? 😀 (Photo credits to Alabang Town Center/Ayala Cinemas)

Just because I feel like telling everyone, my friends and I sat in the front row (as in row A) and although it was almost a pain to the eyes, I’d say it was tolerable. After all, it’s Andrew Garfield, the plot is good and at least, the cinema was big and allowed some space in front of us.

As I said before, I am no comic book geek but I find the story cohesive and portrayed well. I had bits of confusion as to the female lead being called “Gwen” instead of “Mary Jane” but that got cleared up in the movie. It also helped that I read somewhere that the story is definitely not a continuation of the previous Spidey movies (I think it’s more like a prequel but considering the overlapping scenarios, it’s more acceptable to separate the two).

I think they did an overall great job and I love the chemistry between Garfield and Stone–almost like they were no longer acting it out. Haha! I haven’t watched The Social Network so I had no idea who Andrew Garfield is. I also haven’t seen any of Emma Stone’s movies so I was somehow surprised at how well they did their parts. (Yeah well, I’m basically clueless to most things Hollywood–or at least the recent ones. Movies and actors alike) 🙂

To be honest, it’s Garfield’s looks that initially got me but I find myself warming up to his Spidey more than I did to Tobey Maguire’s. I find this year’s Spider-Man more fresh (probably ’cause yeah, it is fresh), more human and developed quite deeper. Maybe, this is just me and my faulty memory of previous films I’ve watched. Maybe, I just can’t remember much of Tobey’s Spidey. Or maybe, we can just blame the previous movies’ scriptwriter/s ’cause I think the 2012 version’s writer/s did really well in weaving the story. (Hey, I remember the feelings a story evoked in me more than anything else, you know.)

All in all, I love it and I long for the day I can actually see an Avengers movie with Spider-Man in it. Of course, let’s all just rejoice about the fact that there’s a sequel as confirmed by the after-credits preview. 🙂

