Tags

, , ,

Synopsis:

Set in a future where the Capitol selects a boy and girl from the twelve districts to fight to the death on live television, Katniss Everdeen volunteers to take her younger sister’s place for the latest match. – IMDb


Director: Gary Ross

Production Companies: Lionsgate

Main Characters:

Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen
Josh Hutcherson as Peeta Mellark
Woody Harrelson as Haymitch Abernathy
Elizabeth Banks as Effie Trinket
Liam Hemsworth as Gale Hawthorne

Genre: Sci-Fi, Action, Dystopia

Release Dates: 21 March 2012 (Philippines)

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Thoughts:

First and foremost, can someone freakin’ tell me where and when the name ‘Seneca Crane’ appeared in the book (if at all)?

‘Cause you know the man in red who turned out to be the Head Gamemaker baffled the hell out of me for the entire film. I mean, I haven’t read Catching Fire yet so I’m practically confused as to the importance of the man with the funny beard. I was thinking of the Gamemakers in a collective manner. I mean that’s how it all felt when I read the book. So surprise, surprise! There’s a Head Gamemaker and I didn’t know it. o_0

The above-mentioned dilemma, my friends, is the reason why I would advice viewers to either read the trilogy first (all three books) or not read any of it at all. I only read The Hunger Games and a lot of the scenes in the movie confused me (particularly those with President Snow and Seneca Crane).Well, if you do your research first then maybe you won’t get confused. But I didn’t do it so there. *shrugs*

Okay. I’ll go ahead and focus on the movie from here on. ๐Ÿ™‚

I must say that I enjoyed this adaptation very much. It was well-made, I think, and I felt that the creators of the film definitely wanted to send the message that the movie has a part 2. I mean, for me, it felt that the movie’s script and sequences were designed to prepare the audience for a bigger plot come the next film.

I also think that they did their best to make it seamless, I find that even if I hadn’t read the book, the facts and concepts they showed were explained well. I commend them for being able to change the narrative from a first person point of view to third person without ruining the storytelling. I think they did a great job in making sure that the movie can stand on its own. ๐Ÿ™‚

As for the actors, I must say that this time, our heroine can act. Jennifer Lawrence’s face was expressive enough that a subtle change in her expression lets you know what she was supposedly feeling. Thank heavens. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think she has good chemistry with both Liam Hemsworth and Josh Hutcherson. I love how the people in the cinema reacted so well to the love triangle part of the movie. ๐Ÿ˜€ In this aspect, the film was able to balance things out and did a better job in developing the romance than the book did. ๐Ÿ˜€

I like how the movie was able to provide me a better visual for the setting of the dystopian world of Panem. I don’t know if it’s just me but aside from District 12, I didn’t quite catch a good visualization of the Capitol from the book. The movie definitely helped on that aspect a lot.

The Games itself had enough suspense and action in it although I would’ve wanted it to be more detailed. But I guess, I should remember that there’s no way the movie regulatory boards all over the world would approve of such brutality. I bet they had a hard enough time to convince everyone that the teenagers aged 12-18 would not kill each other after watching the film. :/

Highlight of the film for me was when the mutts came in and my sister jumped in her seat in fright–almost hit the girl sitting beside her. LOL.

Anyway, all in all, I think they did a good job, especially if the readers would just stop complaining about how the movie changed this or cut that. ๐Ÿ™‚

And yeah, let me just share this photo from tumblr that my friend showed me. I guess Peeta-Katniss fans should be careful how they’d call themselves, won’t they?

