Tags

, , , , , , ,

Synopsis:

These days, the term “homeless” has taken on new meaning. There are youths referred to as “net cafe refugees,” who have neither a job nor a place to live, but who find themselves hopping around internet cafes. One such refugee is a 20-year-old girl named Chisato, who lost her mother at a young age due to sickness. She spent her youth trying to escape from the huge debt her father left her, and her battle with the repossessors unfolded every night. However, her life changed after meeting one man named Shinzo, changing her views on the meaning of “family.” Shinzo comes from a rich family tracing back to the Edo period, and he adopted six good-looking sons with the hope of one becoming his successor, but all of them have strange personalities. Shinzo promises to free Chisato from her debt if she marries him and becomes the mother of his sons. However, a life with these six guys under one roof will not go smoothly… —Tokyograph via Dramawiki

Directors: Matsuda Hidetomo (ep1-2,5,8,10), Sato Genta (佐藤源太) (ep3-4,6,9), Tokuichi Toshiyuki (徳市敏之) (ep7)

Screenwriter: Muto Shogo

Main Characters:

Kaname Jun as Okura Fuu
Okada Yoshinori as Okura Takeru
Mukai Osamu as Okura Sho
Yamamoto Yusuke as Okura Masaru
Seto Koji as Okura Satoru
Okayama Tomoki as Okura Akira
Horikita Maki as Mineta Chisato

Genre: Comedy, Family

No. of episodes: 11

Broadcast Network: Fuji TV

Airtime: Tuesday 21:00

Broadcast Period: 2009-Apr-14 to 2009-Jun-23

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Thoughts:

This is yet another jdorama that I’ve decided to watch mostly because of the very familiar cast. I love Horikita Maki and Yamamoto Yusuke; I’ve developed a certain crush on Mukai Osamu and I find Kaname Jun really hot. LOL

It also helped that at the end of Mei-chan no Shitsuji (the drama I watched prior to this), a clip/trailer of Atashinchi no Danshi was shown and somehow piqued my interest. You know, a beggar-looking (*wink*) lady suddenly got involved with men of (almost) unimaginable backgrounds. In some ways, the drama is another reverse harem type. 🙂

Anyway, I find the plot pretty much weird and in some ways, pointless. It wasn’t until the last three or four episodes that everything started making sense.  One thing was clear though. The show was about the importance of ‘family’. It’s strange that Chisato was asked to be the mother of six men (well, 4 men, 1 teen and 1 boy) but I guess this show is simply trying to convey that there are different types of families and not just the conventional ‘married couple + children’. I’d say that this is what made the show worth watching. Aside from all the sauna scenes of the topless brothers in towels. 🙂

There were times when you’d want to just skip and give up on the silliness of the show but I think the reason why I kept on watching aside from all the sauna scenes of the topless brothers in towels was that the show started with so many mysteries and questions that it gets frustrating not knowing the entire truth of the matter. A lot of surprises came up near the end of the drama—making me gasp and squeal and cry. 🙂

I was a bit on the edge about the romance in the drama because it really didn’t give an explicit ending but I guess the way the show wrapped up pretty much gave the viewers an idea of what would actually happen. And we’ll all have to be satisfied about that. It’s just that I really find Maki (Chisato) and Osamu (Sho) cute together; I really wished for more. 😦

P.S.

Yamamoto Yusuke is an effeminate here and yeah, he nailed it. This man is an awesome actor; I am yet to see him do the same kind of role. *standing ovation*

I also applaud the writers as the show’s villain wasn’t someone you’d totally hate mostly because he was a screw-up and he’s totally funny. Hard to hate forever. =)

P.P.S.

I just read from some other blogs that this is an original story for a dorama and a manga was created after the drama gained popularity. I don’t know but I find it really surprising that this time, it’s a manga adaptation instead of a drama adaptation. *applause*

