Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Synopsis:

The IMF is shut down when it’s implicated in the bombing of the Kremlin, causing Ethan Hunt and his new team to go rogue to clear their organization’s name.-IMDb

Director: Brad Bird

Production Companies: Paramount Pictures, Skydance Productions, etc.

Main Characters:

Tom Cruise as Ethan Hunt
Paula Patton as Jane Carter
Simon Pegg as Benji Dunn
Jeremy Renner as William Brandt

Genre: Adventure, Thriller, Action

Release Dates: 11 December 2011 (USA); 15 December 2011 (Philippines)

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Thoughts:

First off, I’m going to have to apologize for a less than comprehensive review because I watched this film without remembering the entire story of the previous ones. More or less, I will be giving an opinion as I look at it as a stand-alone movie. I knew that this would be all about stunts and basically “impossible” things considering the title, and of course, what my brain could remember from the previous franchises.

Let me just say that this is one of my most anticipated movie in 2011. As far as I know, it has been quite a long time since the last Mission: Impossible movie and I kind of missed Tom Cruise as Ethan Hunt. For one, I can only see Tom Cruise as the man doing all those impossible missions.

First thing I’ve noticed: Tom Cruise got old. Well, we can’t expect him to stay as young, hot and gorgeous as he was before, can we? But man, he aged well. For someone approaching fifty, I think he still looked handsome and drool-worthy. Nevertheless, he portrayed Ethan Hunt superbly–exactly how we all expected him to do.

I liked how the movie practically brought me to different places and that’s a plus to the production team. I love Russia and Dubai, especially. It really made me want to hop on a plane, disguise myself and retrieve important documents. 🙂 That climbing scene using sticky gloves just about gave me a heart attack. I guess, the producers went out of their way to spend money on this particular movie just to give the audience what we were asking for–impossibility turning into a possibility. At least in a movie.

Story-wise, I think the world-domination-missile-launching-nuclear-whatever kind of conflict was too cliche for my taste but the fact that I was still amazed at how the story went on must have been enough reason to accept that these cliches are what make audiences crave for more. They were able to string the series of events seamlessly and I think that’s good enough. The sub-plots were also note-worthy, particularly the characters, Jane Carter and William Brandt. I wouldn’t be saying anything more except that these characters added a bit more drama and substance to the action-packed film.

All in all, I think it was good. I just hope that if they ever produce another M:I film, they would finally provide a conclusion for Ethan Hunt. You know, M:I-10 wouldn’t have the same impact as the first films after all. Or, maybe they can do a spin-off like they do in books. Introduce another character or give highlight to a minor one. Just a suggestion, though. =)

P.S.

I was especially drawn to the character, Brandt played by Jeremy Renner. Just to say, Renner will star in the fourth franchise of the Bourne Series, The Bourne Legacy as Aaron Cross. Even better, Legacy‘s production team is currently in Manila, filming parts of the movie here. Hehe. =)

