Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Synopsis:

The Quileute’s close in on expecting parents Edward and Bella, whose unborn child poses a threat to the Wolf Pack and the towns people of Forks.-IMDb

(So sorry I couldn’t find a better synopsis…rawr)

 

Director: Bill Condon

Production Companies: Summit Entertainment

Main Characters:

Kristen Stewart as Bella Swan
Robert Pattinson as Edward Cullen
Taylor Lautner as Jacob Black

Genre: Romance, Fantasy, Adventure, Drama

Release Dates: 30 October 2011 (Italy); 18 November 2011 (Philippines)

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Thoughts:

First off, I read the book years ago. And I don’t do rereads unless the urge to do so was overpowering (which didn’t happen with Breaking Dawn). Not that I don’t think it isn’t a great book or anything. In fact, BD is my favorite book in the Twilight Saga. I find Breaking Dawn’s plot the most interesting and well-developed (probably due to the length).

Anyway, I can’t say that I wasn’t excited for the movie but neither was I willing to fall in a long line on a premiere night. Thus, I ended up waiting for a chance to get all the members of our family to be available before we all could watch the film. One would think that this is a late review. It is, actually, since I watched it almost a week ago. So forgive me if I end up not giving an opinion on specific scenes.

Moving on, let me just say that the best thing about the movie was the soundtrack. My sister and I fell in love with Christina Perri’s A Thousand Years and the thing is, I haven’t even heard of that singer prior to watching the movie. The wedding version of Iron & Wine’s Flightless Bird, American Mouth made me recall that really nice prom (school dance?) scene in Twilight. 🙂

Aside from the OST, I think another good part about the movie was the scenes in Brazil and of course, “Isle Esme”. I want to have a secluded beach house just like that. 😛

The story covered only half of the book but I guess I really can’t expect the story to feel as good as reading it straight from the book. The falling out between the wolf pack felt a bit rushed or something. And of course, Jacob’s imprinting didn’t seem as sweet and amusing as with the book.

Now on with Bella and Edward’s child, Renesmee. I really think that whoever that girl was who portrayed her, suits the role well (at least with the looks), and she reminded me of the young Lily Potter in the Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows movie. Now don’t throw bricks at me, I’m not comparing the two movies. I also love how adorable the baby actually was. Haha! So cute! ❤

The movie was consistent with the tone of the previous installments and I guess that’s a good thing–making the entire saga very defined and unique on its own. My problem with Breaking Dawn is the same with the other Twilight Saga movies. Boring scenes and Kristen Stewart. Now, now. The boredom was saved by the songs. Kristen Stewart may be a good actress for some but I really have an issue with her fidgeting and expressionless face. Especially, the fidgeting. I had a terrible headache while watching her because I have a tendency to stare at the screen and she wouldn’t stop moving. Aside from that, I rest my case. 🙂

All in all, I think it was a good adaptation and that last scene was a good way to end it–artistically done, I think. 🙂

P.S.

I think I want that chess set they played with in Isle Esme. I don’t know how to play chess though. =P

Oh and you’ve got to love Bella’s wedding dress. =)

