Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Teens or young adults who have never watched or read a vampire story, raise your hands!

Had this been my thesis problem, I would have dropped it and looked for another topic. It would have taken me forever to find the right number of respondents and of course, I wanted to graduate on time (so I chose ‘Plastikan’. Ahhhh. Those were the days…).

If you haven’t noticed the trend yet, stories that target young adults, especially teens, have shifted from wizards to vampires (and werewolves). I, as a reader, have experienced the shift. One day, everyone was gushing over Harry and his friends, then came Edward and his sparkles. One day, I was trying to finish the HP books (which I haven’t finished yet. *Don’t kill me, Potterheads.*), then I discovered the Twilight Saga (which I finished. *No, I’m not a Twilighter.*).

I honestly loved the fantasy-adventure genre and these books were wonderful stories. Being a romance reader, I think that I never would have bothered with these stories had they not been popular to the point of being adapted into films.

However, I noticed something very different about the two. During the peak of the Potter fame, Harry was king. The other wizard books were either the wise old men (the classics) or the people (the not as famous books). Don’t get me wrong, I respect the other wizard books but let’s admit it, Harry Potter is a legend. The current vampire kingdom is divided into so many political factions (fandoms) that sometimes, the vampire genre annoys me. There was the Twilighters, the fans of The Vampire Diaries, the Blue Blood Series, the Night World Series, my very own Vampire Academy fandom and all the other numerous vampire books. YA shelves in bookstores are filled with so many vampire novels that they’ve become confusing and honestly, the novelty is starting to wear off.

The last time I’ve been to a bookstore to check the romance section shelf, I’ve seen that even adult fiction has started to adapt the romanticized vampire concept. My reaction? Sigh then roll the eyes. After that, I went straight to the names of my favorite romance authors to see which ones I haven’t read yet.

I don’t have anything against vampires (hey, I read about them too) but I think that people are being narrow-minded for thinking that the only books that would sell to teens and young adults are the vampire stories. This is why I applaud the efforts of such authors as Suzanne Collins (Hunger Games), Rick Riordan (Percy Jackson) and Lauren Kate (Fallen). They used different themes (powers/abilities) and although I have never read any of their works, I am quite sure that they were all something I would enjoy (I’ve been wanting to buy myself the books but my wallet and priorities have other ideas).

The writers of the real vampires (grit and morbidity included) are also very brave as they bring the vampire theme into a balance.

I read a comment in a blog (I don’t remember what. Sorry.) that some authors were even rejected because publishers wanted ‘something with vampires in it’. In my opinion, this (our) generation has had enough vampires than we can read about. Maybe it’s time to discover a new fad. Maybe it’s time we give Edward, Stefan, Damon and all those undead creatures another break (just as we did with Dracula and Lestat. I’m pretty sure they’ll resurface again anyway). Those three authors I’ve mentioned have made good starting points. How about a story about a minotaur? A unicorn who turns into a human? A different take on fairies? A dwarf? Or maybe it’s silly but how about a dog and cat (who turn into humans) love story? I have never read any story with those themes but I’d say they’re welcome into my reading list. Or maybe, YA Lit writers can popularize novels with normal characters again. Sort of like the books with similar themes as How Not to Spend Your Senior Year by Cameron Dokey or the Shopaholic Series by Sophie Kinsella. With that I’d get some more ideas on how to go through my own writing project. Hehe.

Again, I have nothing against vampire novels but if this trend would still go on for years, I think I would end up hating vampires. Or at least, the romanticized ones. I guess for now, I’d go on to read Richelle Mead’s works, in this case, the Bloodlines Series, but that’s only because I already love the characters in it. A new vampire series would probably be met with a lot of hesitation.

Now this post just made me think why I don’t mind reading romance novels over and over again. Maybe because I do like feeling like I’m in love. Even if it’s just during my reading time.

P.S.

Breaking Dawn: Part 1 is set to be released on November 18, 2011 so mark your calendars. ๐Ÿ™‚

The Vampire Diaries Season 3 is also up and currently on air so don’t forget to watch it. ๐Ÿ™‚

