Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Synopsis:

In the near-future, where the sport of boxing has gone hi-tech, Charlie Kenton is a washed-up fighter who lost his chance at a title when 2000-pound, 8-foot-tall steel robots took over the ring. Now nothing but a small-time promoter, Charlie earns just enough money piecing together low-end bots from scrap metal to get from one underground boxing venue to the next. When Charlie hits rock bottom, he reluctantly teams up with his estranged son Max to build and train a championship contender. As the stakes in the brutal, no-holds-barred arena are raised, Charlie and Max, against all odds, get one last shot at a comeback. – Yahoo! Movies

Director: Shawn Levy

Production Companies: Touchstone Pictures, DreamWorks

Main Characters:

Hugh Jackman as Charlie Kenton
Dakota Goyo as Max Kenton
Evangeline Lilly as Bailey Tallet

Genre: Sci-Fi, Action, Drama

Release Dates: 6 September 2011 (France); 12 October 2011 (Philippines)

Rating: 4 1/2 out of 5 stars

Thoughts:

I found out about the movie through Facebook and Twitter when my friends started gushing over how good the movie was and how they were all waiting for the sequel. Unknowingly, my entire family had already seen it (my sisters watched with their friends and my parents before they went home from work). They all agreed that it was good, my dad especially. Now that I’ve seen it, I know exactly why my dad loved it–boxing and a father-son story. I know my dad loves all of his three daughters but I’m pretty sure that just like most dads, he wanted a son. I can just imagine what he felt while watching the movie. ๐Ÿ™‚

So my parents felt ‘guilty’ that I’m the only one who hasn’t seen the movie so they gave me money for the tickets and somewhat ‘forced’ me out of my cave the house into the cinemas. My youngest sister went with me and thank goodness that she’s not a spoiler thus, I went on to enjoy the movie.

Note that I’m not the type of person who does her research before watching a film. Mostly, I like surprising myself so the only background I had was the idea that the film has robots in it. I haven’t even seen the trailer (or if I did, I forgot about it).

Here are my thoughts before the film started/during the film’s first few minutes:

“If this is really a good film, then this could only be based on a novel.” [And I was right. Or at least almost right. It was based on a short story, “Steel” by Richard Matheson]

“Those robots looked like something out of a Transformers movie.” [c/o DreamWorks]

Anyway, this film’s sub-plot is not something so uncommon. We’ve seen the father-son story so many times that it’s a wonder why we all still love watching it. Maybe it helped that the father and son in this movie are both handsome devils. ๐Ÿ™‚

I like the development of their relationship and the fact that it was so obvious how the two characters are so alike. It was so fun watching the two of them being stubborn and arrogant but not to the point of making me hate them or be annoyed with them. I like that line where Max told his dad, “I want you to fight for me. That’s all I ever wanted.” [awwwwww…]

What’s new (at least for me) in this film is the robot boxing plot. The futuristic thought made me think that “yeah, why don’t we just use robots for this kind of bloody (sort of) sport?” [Goodbye, famous boxers, e.g. Manny Pacquiao. I don’t hate you though. In fact, I am proud of you.] The only problem with that kind of sport would be the terrible waste of money. You see, spending $50, 000 for a robot that would be destroyed in more or less an hour is so not practical.

I may be a sucker for romantic plots but I also enjoy watching/reading about other people’s ideas about what would happen in the future. This film did not make me wish to die right this minute because the future is so depressing. I loved the action in the ring and it was obvious that the film was made to entertain.

The best things about the movie:

1. Atom. He is just the right robot for me. ๐Ÿ™‚ No offense to other robots a.k.a the Transformers (don’t take me wrong, I love Bumblebee <3)

2. Hugh Jackman. Why is this man so hot? And I must say that I like his role as a father. Very different from the films I’ve seen him in.

3. Dakota Goyo. Good thing I’m not a full-pledged pedophile. I stop at crushes. ๐Ÿ˜› He took over the film like the main character he should be. It was so entertaining to watch how arrogant and naive he was. Very childlike, which is just how I pictured an eleven-year-old. I also love his fanboy attitude. Reminds me so much of myself. ๐Ÿ˜›

What I didn’t like in the film was…hmmm…the first half was a bit dragged. I think it would be a lot better if Atom’s part was lengthened since he had a huge part in making the ending epic. But that’s just my opinion. ๐Ÿ™‚

