Tags

, , , , , ,

Synopsis:

The tale of Conan the Cimmerian and his adventures across the continent of Hyboria on a quest to avenge the murder of his father and the slaughter of his village. – IMDb

Director: Marcus Nispel

Production Companies: Nu Image Films, Millennium Films, Paradox Entertainment

Main Characters:

Jason Momoa as Conan
Rachel Nichols as Tamara
Stephen Lang as Khalar Zym
Rose McGowan as Marique

Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy

Release Date: Aug. 17, 2011 (Philippines); Aug. 19, 2011 (U.S.)

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Thoughts:

Okay. First and foremost, let me tell you that I have no prior knowledge about Conan the Cimmerian before I watched the movie with my parents. All I knew about him was that he’s a warrior and I wasn’t even sure whether he’s a fictional character or not. I just did some research and found out that he’s a character created by Robert E. Howard in 1932 (?).

So, the first judgment I made of the film was that it’s a good one. Although, it’s not the kind of ‘good’ that made me go fangirling over it. I liked it mostly because I find something fascinating about warrior stories (I kind of consider warriors the epitome of the alpha male). The legendary feel of warrior stories was enough to entice me. The movie was like the real-life version of the warrior novels I’ve read (romance novels, that is. Hihi).

However, once I got around to thinking about it, I must say that the movie kind of lacked character development. Yes, I’ve seen Conan’s drive to avenge his father’s death. Yes, I’ve seen Khalar’s desire to be powerful and godlike. But, in my opinion, that’s about it. The battles were also quite too much for me. I understand he’s a warrior and battle scenes are essential but it had seemed like the battles ate up too much of the movie’s screen time (which could have been used to develop the stories behind the characters).

I think that Conan’s story was a well-developed one in the series of short stories and novels and the movie somehow made me want to get to know about him more (but, let’s see if I’d ever find the time :P).

Advice:

There’s no need to snack on something while watching the film. Unless you’re the type of person who don’t mind seeing gore while eating. 🙂

