Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Synopsis:

The original Korean version aired in 2009 and starred Park Shin Hye, Jang Keun Suk, Lee Hong Ki, and Jung Yong Hwa. The story revolved around a fictional boy band named A.N.JELL. Park Shin Hye played a nun-in-training who has to pose as her twin brother and take his place in the group, leading to a complicated relationship between the group’s members. — Tokyograph

Directors: Tsuboi Toshio, Hirano Shunichi, Ozawa Yuki

Producer: Takahashi Masanao for TBS

Main Characters:

Takimoto Miori as Sakuraba Mio (Male) / Sakuraba Miko (Female)
Tamamori Yuta as Katsuragi Ren
Fujigaya Taisuke as Fujishiro Shu
Yaotome Hikaru as Hongo Yuki

Genre: Drama

Airtime: Fridays 10:00 PM

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thoughts:

First off, I have to say that I am a person easily pleased so I’m not much for strong opinions. However, I do know it when I like something or when I hate it. This remake is one of those things. You can call me biased or anything but I like to think that I have an open mind.And just for the record, I’ve watched the Korean version. 🙂

I like it first, because it’s a Japanese drama. I have never been a fan of long dramas and that’s what brought me to Japanese series. I like the fact that most of their dramas don’t exceed more than 15 episodes. Second, I like it because the Korean (original) version had me fall in love with the plot and I expected no less. This remake (although currently ongoing) is sure to follow the plot and I couldn’t be more pleased. The fast pace sure is not a disappointment for me either. 😀

Yes, there are changes but that’s another thing I like about it. The changes they made definitely made it better. I know the Japanese likes to instill values when it comes to their dramas and this production did it well. Not to mention the fact that I love kids. And let me say that I find Mio/Miko really charming. 🙂

Oh, and I definitely like the manager (played by Yanagisawa Shingo). He’s really a good comedian. I first saw him in Cartoon KAT-TUN. And he was really good. 🙂

Hmmm. What I didn’t like about it (at first) is that I found the Korean AN Jell more handsome. But, as I tend to do when it comes to Japanese guys, I’m sure I’ll fall for Ren, Shu and Yuki too after watching some more episodes. Again, my reactions are more likely because I am easily pleased.

As to why it lacks one star from my rating is more because I want to leave them more space for improvement. After all, this is just the first episode.

So there, I’m off looking forward to watching the next episodes. The weekly wait sure is going to be quite frustrating. 🙂

P.S.

There are two other Live Action dramas currently airing that features this kind of plot (a girl pretending to be a boy) entitled Ouran High School Host Club and Hana Kimi remake. You can watch all these dramas in dramacrazy.net. I’m sure it’s easy to search them off at Google. 😀

